Loading Events
SUNDAY MORNING MEDICINE BUDDHA PUJA For the last Sunday morning program of the year, we will practice the Medicine Buddha Puja together as a community. Please bring the young people in your life for a cookie decorating party during the children’s program!

Lam-rim Course Schedule October 6, 2019-May 31, 2020

(Sundays 11:00am – 12:30pm)

Sunday, October 6: Class 1 ~ What is “Enlightenment” Anyway? Motivation for Learning the Stages of the Path to Enlightenment (Lamrim)

Sunday, October 13: Class 2 ~ The Greatest Goodness is a Peaceful Mind. Atisha, The Greatness of the Teaching

Sunday, October 20: Class 3 ~ The Upside-Down PotHow to Listen to and Explain the Teachings

Sunday, October 27: Class 4 ~A Virtuous Friend. Relying on the Teacher

Sunday, November 3: Class 5 ~Sitting Still. The Meditation Session

Sunday, November 10: Class 6 ~It’s Not Zoning Out. Refuting Misconceptions About Meditation

Sunday, November 17: Tara Retreat with Yangsi Rinpoche: click here to register

Sunday, November 24: Closed for Thanksgiving Break
December 1: Closed for Thanksgiving Break
December 8: Closed for Winter Celebration clean up (Volunteers needed)

December 15: Class 7 ~ Lucky to be Here. A Human Life of Leisure and Opportunity

Sunday, January 26: Class 8  ~ Locating Oneself on the Path. The Three Types of Persons 

Sunday, February 2: Class 9  ~ The Only Certain Thing. Mindfulness of Death  

Sunday, February 16: Class 10  ~ Looking Ahead. Reflecting on Your Future Life 

Sunday, February 23: Class 11  ~ Protection in the Storm. The Practice of Refuge 

Sunday, March 1: Class 12  ~ Protection in the Storm. Refuge Precepts and Taking Refuge 

Sunday, March 15: Class 13  ~ Reap What You Sow. Karma: Part 1 

Sunday, April 5: Class 14  ~ Reap What You Sow. Karma: Part 2 

Sunday, April 12: Class 15  ~ A Starting Point. The Attitude of a Person of Small Capacity 

Sunday, May 3: Class 16  ~ The Basis of Everything. Cultivating Ethical Behavior 

Sunday, May 10: Class 17  ~ Like Honey on the Razor’s Edge. The Origin of Suffering and The Twelve Links of Dependent-Arising: Part 1 

Sunday, May 24: Class 18  ~ Like Honey on the Razor’s Edge. The Origin of Suffering and The Twelve Links of Dependent-Arising: Part 2 

Sunday, May 31: Class 19  ~ Definite Emergence: Liberation! The Medium Scope 

In Fall, 2020 this course will continue with teachings on the Medium and Great Scope according to the lamrim. 

Details

Date:
December 15
Time:
11:00 am - 12:30 pm
Event Category:

Organizer

Maitripa College
Phone:
503-235-2477
Website:
maitripa.org

Venue

Maitripa College
1119 SE Market St.
Portland, OR 97214 United States
Google Map
Phone:
503-235-2477
Website:
http://maitripa.org/